Busy Month!

First, I want to acknowledge that October is Breast Cancer awareness month.  I don’t know anyone who has not been impacted by this disease.  Last year, we lost our cousin, only in her 40’s.  And there have been many others.  Do your self-exams and support the cause where you can. 

As October goes screeching by (can’t believe it’s almost the middle of  the month), I’ve already gotten a lot accomplished in addition to my regular daily routine. I volunteered for a half-day at Relay for Life; attended my 30-year high school reunion; designed and ordered new business cards; went to the fantastic Ladies Luncheon networking event; took a trip to Disneyland; had dinner with my college roommate; organized and hosted a Girl Scout ceremony; and have been working with seven 8th grade girls preparing them to present at a Women’s History fundraiser that takes place tonight.  No wonder I have to keep reminding myself to breathe. 

So, breathe I do (and stretch and take time to recharge) while really focusing on the structure of my days so I can get as much as possible accomplished while still taking care of myself.  The daily challenges of balancing all we do.

But there’s more to come.  I’m almost finished preparing for tomorrow’s Victory Circle meeting.  This month’s topic is the power of Cooperation and Teamwork, which is a great theme for a group with a foundation in helping one and other.  We are creating our organizational charts and our business “Declaration of Independence.”  It’s these practical yet fun and creative tasks that can really get our businesses moving forward.

I’m also getting ready for Thursday’s VCPWN Mixer and Business Expo.  I’ll have a display table, along with 35 or so other business owners.  A mere $5 gains admission, hors d’oeuvres, door prize drawings and a great evening networking with local business owners.  There’s an additional chance to win a 42′ flat screen TV as well.  Learn more at www.vcpwn.org.

Much more going on, but I’ll save it for another day.  What are some of the business-building (or other) highlights of your month?  Feel free to share them here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

